Coverart for item
The Resource A Garden of Marvels : How We Discovered that Flowers Have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of Plants, (electronic resource :)

A Garden of Marvels : How We Discovered that Flowers Have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of Plants, (electronic resource :)

Label
A Garden of Marvels : How We Discovered that Flowers Have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of Plants
Title
A Garden of Marvels
Title remainder
How We Discovered that Flowers Have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of Plants
Statement of responsibility
Ruth Kassinger
Creator
Contributor
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
A witty and engaging history of the first botanists, interwoven with stories of today's extraordinary plants found in the garden and the lab In Paradise Under Glass, Ruth Kassinger recounts with grace and humor her journey from brown thumb to green, sharing the lessons that she learned from building a home conservatory in the wake of a devastating personal crisis. In A Garden of Marvels, she extends the story. "This book was born of a murder, a murder I committed," she begins. The victim was a kumquat tree. Though she diligently did her best—watering, fertilizing, repotting, and pruning—the plant turned brown and brittle. Why did the kumquat die when other plants in the garden that received the same attention thrived? she wondered. It was an experience that offered invaluable insight. While she knew the basic rules of caring for indoor plants, Kassinger realized that she understood very little about plant physiology—how roots, stems, leaves, and flowers actually function. Determined not to repeat her failure, she set out to learn the fundamentals of botany in order to become a better gardener. A Garden of Marvels is the story of her wise and enchanting odyssey to discover the secret life of plants. Kassinger retraces the progress of the first botanists—including a melancholy Italian anatomist, a renegade French surgeon, a stuttering English minister, an obsessive German schoolteacher, and Charles Darwin—who banished myths and misunderstandings and discovered that flowers have sex, leaves eat air, roots choose their food, and hormones make morning glories climb fence posts. She goes out into the world as well, visiting modern gardens, farms, and labs to discover the science behind extraordinary plants like one-ton pumpkins, truly black petunias, ferns that eat the arsenic in contaminated soil, biofuel grass that grows twelve feet tall, and the world's only photosynthesizing animal. Kassinger also introduces us to modern scientific research that offers hope for combatting climate change and alleviating world hunger. She then transfers her insights to her own garden, where she nurtures a "cocktail" tree that bears five kinds of fruit, cures an ailing Buddha's Hand plant with beneficial fungi, and gets a tree to text her when it's thirsty. Intertwining personal anecdotes, accessible science, and little-known history, A Garden of Marvels takes us on an eye-opening journey into Kassinger's garden—and yours—offering us a new appreciation of this exquisite gift of nature: "Our garden is more than a marvel. It's as close to a miracle as there is on Earth."
Summary
"In the tradition of The Botany of Desire and Wicked Plants, the author of Paradise Under Glass gives us a witty and engaging history of the first botanists interwoven with stories of today's extraordinary plants found in the garden and the lab"--
Writing style
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10282153
Cataloging source
MnSpTMCL
Dewey number
920
Index
no index present
Intended audience
General adult
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
how we discovered that flowers have sex, leaves eat air, and other secrets of plants
Label
A Garden of Marvels : How We Discovered that Flowers Have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of Plants, (electronic resource :)
Link
http://ebook.3m.com/library/ald-document_id-d4fsyz9
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
9780062049032
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
416 p.
Form of item
electronic
Isbn
9780062049032
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
d4fsyz9
Label
A Garden of Marvels : How We Discovered that Flowers Have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of Plants, (electronic resource :)
Link
http://ebook.3m.com/library/ald-document_id-d4fsyz9
Publication
Control code
9780062049032
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
416 p.
Form of item
electronic
Isbn
9780062049032
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
d4fsyz9

Library Locations

  • Arapahoe Library DistrictBorrow it
    12855 E Adam Aircraft Circle, Englewood, CO, 80112
    39.578124 -104.839077
  • Castlewood LibraryBorrow it
    6739 South Uinta Street, Centennial, CO, 80112
    39.594664 -104.894003
  • Davies LibraryBorrow it
    303 Third Avenue, Deer Trail, CO, 80105
    39.611227 -104.042075
  • Kelver LibraryBorrow it
    404 East Front Street, Byers, CO, 80103
    39.708307 -104.218269
  • Koelbel LibraryBorrow it
    5955 South Holly Street, Centennial, CO, 80121
    39.608933 -104.923621
  • May LibraryBorrow it
    1471 South Parker Road, Denver, CO, 80231
    39.689929 -104.891306
  • Sheridan LibraryBorrow it
    3425 West Oxford Avenue, Denver, CO, 80236
    39.642287 -105.031003
  • Smoky Hill LibraryBorrow it
    5430 South Biscay Circle, Centennial, CO, 80015
    39.618093 -104.767532
  • Southglenn LibraryBorrow it
    6972 South Vine Street, Centennial, CO, 80122
    39.590567 -104.963761
Processing Feedback ...