Coverart for item
The Resource A window opens, Elisabeth Egan

A window opens, Elisabeth Egan

Label
A window opens
Title
A window opens
Statement of responsibility
Elisabeth Egan
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
*People's "Summer's Must-Reads"* *"A winning, heartfelt debut." ́??Good Housekeeping* *Publishers Weekly "Best Summer Reads"* Fans of I Don't Know How She Does It and Where'd You Go, Bernadette? will cheer at this "fresh, funny take on the age-old struggle to have it all" (People) about what happens when a wife and mother of three leaps at the chance to fulfill her professional destiný??only to learn every opportunity comes at a price.In A Window Opens, beloved books editor at Glamour magazine Elisabeth Egan brings us Alice Pearse, a compulsively honest, longing-to-have-it-all, sandwich generation heroine for our social-media-obsessed, lean in (or opt out) age. Like her fictional forebears Kate Reddy and Bridget Jones, Alice plays many roles (which she never refers to as "wearing many hats" and wishes you wouldn't, either). She is a mostly-happily married mother of three, an attentive daughter, an ambivalent dog-owner, a part-time editor, a loyal neighbor and a Zen commuter. She is not: a cook, a craftswoman, a decorator, an active PTA member, a natural caretaker or the breadwinner. But when her husband makes a radical career change, Alice is ready to lean iń??and she knows exactly how lucky she is to land a job at Scroll, a hip young start-up which promises to be the future of reading, with its chain of chic literary lounges and dedication to beloved classics. The Holy Grail of working motherś??an intellectually satisfying job and a happy personal lifé??seems suddenly within reach. Despite the disapproval of her best friend, who owns the local bookstore, Alice is proud of her new "balancing act" (which is more like a three-ring circus) until her dad gets sick, her marriage flounders, her babysitter gets fed up, her kids start to grow up and her work takes an unexpected turn. Readers will cheer as Alice realizes the question is not whether it's possible to have it all, but what does shé??Alice Pearsé??really want?
Accompanying matter
technical information on music
Cataloging source
TEFOD
Dewey number
813/.6
Form of composition
not applicable
Format of music
not applicable
Literary text for sound recordings
fiction
Music parts
not applicable
PerformerNote
Read by Julia Whelan
Target audience
adult
Transposition and arrangement
not applicable
Label
A window opens, Elisabeth Egan
Link
http://digital.arapahoelibraries.org/ContentDetails.htm?ID=F9F7DF9B-8BB1-48C4-9391-C9CA5AB7DDC5
Instantiates
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Control code
ocn919253248
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 sound file (11 hr., 32 min., 32 sec.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9781442387973
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
c
Other physical details
digital.
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
Stock number
F9F7DF9B-8BB1-48C4-9391-C9CA5AB7DDC5
System control number
(OCoLC)919253248
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable
Label
A window opens, Elisabeth Egan
Link
http://digital.arapahoelibraries.org/ContentDetails.htm?ID=F9F7DF9B-8BB1-48C4-9391-C9CA5AB7DDC5
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Control code
ocn919253248
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 sound file (11 hr., 32 min., 32 sec.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9781442387973
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
c
Other physical details
digital.
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
Stock number
F9F7DF9B-8BB1-48C4-9391-C9CA5AB7DDC5
System control number
(OCoLC)919253248
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable

Library Locations

  • Arapahoe Library DistrictBorrow it
    12855 E Adam Aircraft Circle, Englewood, CO, 80112
    39.578124 -104.839077
  • Castlewood LibraryBorrow it
    6739 South Uinta Street, Centennial, CO, 80112
    39.594664 -104.894003
  • Davies LibraryBorrow it
    303 Third Avenue, Deer Trail, CO, 80105
    39.611227 -104.042075
  • Kelver LibraryBorrow it
    404 East Front Street, Byers, CO, 80103
    39.708307 -104.218269
  • Koelbel LibraryBorrow it
    5955 South Holly Street, Centennial, CO, 80121
    39.608933 -104.923621
  • May LibraryBorrow it
    1471 South Parker Road, Denver, CO, 80231
    39.689929 -104.891306
  • Sheridan LibraryBorrow it
    3425 West Oxford Avenue, Denver, CO, 80236
    39.642287 -105.031003
  • Smoky Hill LibraryBorrow it
    5430 South Biscay Circle, Centennial, CO, 80015
    39.618093 -104.767532
  • Southglenn LibraryBorrow it
    6972 South Vine Street, Centennial, CO, 80122
    39.590567 -104.963761
Processing Feedback ...