Coverart for item
The Resource Black moon : a novel, Kenneth Calhoun, (electronic resource)

Black moon : a novel, Kenneth Calhoun, (electronic resource)

Label
Black moon : a novel
Title
Black moon
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Kenneth Calhoun
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
For fans of The Age of Miracles and The Dog Stars, Black Moon is a hallucinatory and stunning debut that Charles Yu calls "Gripping and expertly constructed." Insomnia has claimed everyone Biggs knows. Even his beloved wife, Carolyn, has succumbed to the telltale red-rimmed eyes, slurred speech and cloudy mind before disappearing into the quickly collapsing world. Yet Biggs can still sleep, and dream, so he sets out to find her. He ventures out into a world ransacked by mass confusion and desperation, where he meets others struggling against the tide of sleeplessness. Chase and his buddy Jordan are devising a scheme to live off their drug-store lootings; Lila is a high school student wandering the streets in an owl mask, no longer safe with her insomniac parents; Felicia abandons the sanctuary of a sleep research center to try to protect her family and perhaps reunite with Chase, an ex-boyfriend. All around, sleep has become an infinitely precious commodity. Money can't buy it, no drug can touch it, and there are those who would kill to have it. However, Biggs persists in his quest for Carolyn, finding a resolve and inner strength that he never knew he had. Kenneth Calhoun has written a brilliantly realized and utterly riveting depiction of a world gripped by madness, one that is vivid, strange, and profoundly moving. From the Hardcover edition
Summary
Insomnia has claimed everyone Biggs knows. Even his beloved wife, Carolyn, has succumbed to the telltale red-rimmed eyes, slurred speech and cloudy mind before disappearing into the quickly collapsing world. Yet Biggs can still sleep, and dream, so he sets out to find her
Theme
Storyline
Pace
Tone
Writing style
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10275948
Cataloging source
RECBK
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
adult
Label
Black moon : a novel, Kenneth Calhoun, (electronic resource)
Link
http://digital.arapahoelibraries.org/ContentDetails.htm?ID=236DF4B1-E98A-47DC-8B4C-01FADBD8F186
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Antecedent source
unknown
Color
multicolored
Control code
ocn869302336
Dimensions
unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource.
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780804137157
Isbn Type
(electronic bk.)
Level of compression
unknown
Publisher number
EB00157218
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
236DF4B1-E98A-47DC-8B4C-01FADBD8F186
System control number
(OCoLC)869302336
Label
Black moon : a novel, Kenneth Calhoun, (electronic resource)
Link
http://digital.arapahoelibraries.org/ContentDetails.htm?ID=236DF4B1-E98A-47DC-8B4C-01FADBD8F186
Publication
Copyright
Antecedent source
unknown
Color
multicolored
Control code
ocn869302336
Dimensions
unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource.
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780804137157
Isbn Type
(electronic bk.)
Level of compression
unknown
Publisher number
EB00157218
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
236DF4B1-E98A-47DC-8B4C-01FADBD8F186
System control number
(OCoLC)869302336

Library Locations

  • Arapahoe Library DistrictBorrow it
    12855 E Adam Aircraft Circle, Englewood, CO, 80112
    39.578124 -104.839077
  • Castlewood LibraryBorrow it
    6739 South Uinta Street, Centennial, CO, 80112
    39.594664 -104.894003
  • Davies LibraryBorrow it
    303 Third Avenue, Deer Trail, CO, 80105
    39.611227 -104.042075
  • Kelver LibraryBorrow it
    404 East Front Street, Byers, CO, 80103
    39.708307 -104.218269
  • Koelbel LibraryBorrow it
    5955 South Holly Street, Centennial, CO, 80121
    39.608933 -104.923621
  • May LibraryBorrow it
    1471 South Parker Road, Denver, CO, 80231
    39.689929 -104.891306
  • Sheridan LibraryBorrow it
    3425 West Oxford Avenue, Denver, CO, 80236
    39.642287 -105.031003
  • Smoky Hill LibraryBorrow it
    5430 South Biscay Circle, Centennial, CO, 80015
    39.618093 -104.767532
  • Southglenn LibraryBorrow it
    6972 South Vine Street, Centennial, CO, 80122
    39.590567 -104.963761
Processing Feedback ...