Coverart for item
The Resource Playing with matches : a novel, Hannah Orenstein

Playing with matches : a novel, Hannah Orenstein

Label
Playing with matches : a novel
Title
Playing with matches
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Hannah Orenstein
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
In the tradition of Good in Bed and The Assistants comes a funny and smart comedy about a young matchmaker balancing her messy personal life and the demands of her eccentric clients. Sasha Goldberg has a lot going for her: a recent journalism degree from NYU, an apartment with her best friend Caroline, and a relationship that would be amazing if her finance-bro boyfriend Jonathan would ever look up from his BlackBerry. But when her dream career falls through, she uses her family's darkest secret to land a job as a matchmaker for New York City's elite at the dating service Bliss. Despite her inexperience, Sasha throws herself into her new career, trolling for catches on Tinder, coaching her clients through rejection, and dishing out dating advice to people twice her age. She sets up a TV exec who wanted kids five years ago, a forty-year-old baseball-loving virgin, and a consultant with a rigorous five-page checklist for her ideal match. Sasha hopes to find her clients The One, like she did. But when Jonathan betrays her, she spirals out of control--and right into the arms of a writer with a charming Southern drawl, who she had previously set up with one of her clients. He's strictly off-limits, but with her relationship on the rocks, all bets are off. Fresh, sweet, and laugh-out-loud funny, Playing with Matches is the addictive story about dating in today's swipe-heavy society, and a young woman trying to find her own place in the world
Summary
Sasha Goldberg, a recent college graduate, lands a job with a New York City dating service for the city's elite, and with her own relationship on the rocks, becomes involved with a charming Southern writer
Theme
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Character
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10665005
Cataloging source
PUL
Dewey number
813
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
adult
Label
Playing with matches : a novel, Hannah Orenstein
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
Includes Touchstone reading group guide
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Control code
1005741840
Dimensions
22 cm.
Edition
First Touchstone trade paperback edition.
Extent
307 pages
Isbn
9781501178481
Lccn
2017037051
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)1005741840
Label
Playing with matches : a novel, Hannah Orenstein
Publication
Copyright
Note
Includes Touchstone reading group guide
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Control code
1005741840
Dimensions
22 cm.
Edition
First Touchstone trade paperback edition.
Extent
307 pages
Isbn
9781501178481
Lccn
2017037051
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)1005741840

Library Locations

  • Arapahoe Library DistrictBorrow it
    12855 E Adam Aircraft Circle, Englewood, CO, 80112
    39.578124 -104.839077
  • Castlewood LibraryBorrow it
    6739 South Uinta Street, Centennial, CO, 80112
    39.594664 -104.894003
  • Davies LibraryBorrow it
    303 Third Avenue, Deer Trail, CO, 80105
    39.611227 -104.042075
  • Kelver LibraryBorrow it
    404 East Front Street, Byers, CO, 80103
    39.708307 -104.218269
  • Koelbel LibraryBorrow it
    5955 South Holly Street, Centennial, CO, 80121
    39.608933 -104.923621
  • May LibraryBorrow it
    1471 South Parker Road, Denver, CO, 80231
    39.689929 -104.891306
  • Sheridan LibraryBorrow it
    3425 West Oxford Avenue, Denver, CO, 80236
    39.642287 -105.031003
  • Smoky Hill LibraryBorrow it
    5430 South Biscay Circle, Centennial, CO, 80015
    39.618093 -104.767532
  • Southglenn LibraryBorrow it
    6972 South Vine Street, Centennial, CO, 80122
    39.590567 -104.963761
Processing Feedback ...