Coverart for item
The Resource The Ex, Alafair Burke, (electronic resource)

The Ex, Alafair Burke, (electronic resource)

Label
The Ex
Title
The Ex
Statement of responsibility
Alafair Burke
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Twenty years ago she ruined his life. Now she has the chance to save it. In this breakout novel of suspense in the vein of Luckiest Girl Alive and The Girl on the Train, a woman agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been framed for murder?but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated. Widower Jack Harris has resisted the dating scene ever since the shooting of his wife, Molly, by a fifteen-year-old boy three years ago. An early morning run along the Hudson River changes that, when he spots a woman in last night's party dress, barefoot, enjoying a champagne picnic alone, reading his favorite novel. Everything about her reminds him of what he used to have with Molly. Eager to help Jack find love again, his best friend posts a message on a popular website after he mentions the encounter. Days later, that same beautiful stranger responds and invites Jack to meet her in person at the waterfront. That's when Jack's world falls apart. Olivia Randall is one of New York City's best criminal defense lawyers. When she hears that her former fianc?, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide?and that one of the victims was connected to his wife's murder?there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is, who would go to such great lengths to frame him?and why? For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets and absolve herself of guilt from a tragic decision, a secret she has held for twenty years. But as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him? Praise for The Ex and Alafair Burke "With an all-too-real mass shooting in a richly observed Manhattan as its springboard, The Ex is an expertly crafted, intricately woven novel that is as emotionally complex as it is riveting."?Kimberly McCreight "Burke's female characters are always very involving, with big, strong voices." ?Gillian Flynn "A major talent."?Harlan Coben "Burke writes deftly about secrets buried close to home."?Meg Gardiner "Burke's novels always deliver and constantly surprise. They're both addictive and utterly rewarding."?Megan Abbott
Summary
Agreeing to defend her long-ago ex-fiancee when he is arrested for a triple homicide involving his wife's murderer, a top criminal lawyer confronts formidable doubts in the face of mounting evidence
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10460346
Cataloging source
B@L
Dewey number
813
Index
no index present
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
adult
Label
The Ex, Alafair Burke, (electronic resource)
Link
http://digital.arapahoelibraries.org/ContentDetails.htm?ID=86276273-9733-4A42-87E6-8299F20EA571
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
ocn933510805
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource.
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780062390509
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Stock number
86276273-9733-4A42-87E6-8299F20EA571
System control number
(OCoLC)933510805
Label
The Ex, Alafair Burke, (electronic resource)
Link
http://digital.arapahoelibraries.org/ContentDetails.htm?ID=86276273-9733-4A42-87E6-8299F20EA571
Publication
Control code
ocn933510805
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource.
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780062390509
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Stock number
86276273-9733-4A42-87E6-8299F20EA571
System control number
(OCoLC)933510805

Library Locations

  • Arapahoe Library DistrictBorrow it
    12855 E Adam Aircraft Circle, Englewood, CO, 80112
    39.578124 -104.839077
  • Castlewood LibraryBorrow it
    6739 South Uinta Street, Centennial, CO, 80112
    39.594664 -104.894003
  • Davies LibraryBorrow it
    303 Third Avenue, Deer Trail, CO, 80105
    39.611227 -104.042075
  • Kelver LibraryBorrow it
    404 East Front Street, Byers, CO, 80103
    39.708307 -104.218269
  • Koelbel LibraryBorrow it
    5955 South Holly Street, Centennial, CO, 80121
    39.608933 -104.923621
  • May LibraryBorrow it
    1471 South Parker Road, Denver, CO, 80231
    39.689929 -104.891306
  • Sheridan LibraryBorrow it
    3425 West Oxford Avenue, Denver, CO, 80236
    39.642287 -105.031003
  • Smoky Hill LibraryBorrow it
    5430 South Biscay Circle, Centennial, CO, 80015
    39.618093 -104.767532
  • Southglenn LibraryBorrow it
    6972 South Vine Street, Centennial, CO, 80122
    39.590567 -104.963761
Processing Feedback ...