Coverart for item
The Resource The Ghost Shift : A Novel, (electronic resource :)

The Ghost Shift : A Novel, (electronic resource :)

Label
The Ghost Shift : A Novel
Title
The Ghost Shift
Title remainder
A Novel
Statement of responsibility
John Gapper
Creator
Contributor
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
In the tradition of Gorky Park, John Gapper’s new thriller takes readers inside the secretive and dangerous world of modern China, as a young woman makes a haunting discovery—one that forces her to choose between duty to her government and a desperate desire to learn the truth about herself. This wasn’t just a body in a field. The corpse’s shape was hers—same length, same curves. Then she knew, and everything else receded to nothingness. All she could see was a woman with the same nose, the same eyes, and the same face. Her twin. As an up-and-coming agent of the Commission for Discipline Inspection, Song Mei probes political corruption, not mysterious deaths. But that changes when she arrives on the scene of a grim police investigation and is confronted with a crime—and a victim—impossible to ignore. Despite strict orders and threats from superiors, Mei knows she can not turn away. Breaking protocol, Mei undertakes a covert search for the truth about the mystery woman’s death—and life—by following in her footsteps from a factory plagued by worker suicides to a luxury hotel dealing in high-end escorts to an American home haunted by tragedy. But when Mei crosses paths with an ex–CIA operative on a shadowy mission of his own, her personal quest takes a jarring turn into political and industrial espionage that pits both agents against the highest ranks of communism and capitalism. Praise for John Gapper’s A Fatal Debt 2Rarely does one read a first novel so self-assured, sharp, and compelling. It takes off like a rocket and doesn’t stop until its explosive conclusion.3—Joseph Finder, author of Suspicion 2An enlightening and grisly tale . . . tightly plotted and fast-paced.3—The New Yorker 2An ingenious thriller about the ruthless world of high finance.3—The Washington Post 2A fast-paced book that should entertain finance aficionados and fans of detective fiction alike.3—Fortune 2A neatly crafted and well-written thriller . . . an audacious, assured debut.3—David Ignatius, author of Bloodmoney 2[Gapper] knows when to put his foot on the narrative accelerator.3—Financial Times 2Intriguing . . . suspenseful . . . a web of deceit and betrayal.3—Booklist From the Hardcover edition
Summary
Mei, an Inspector near Hong Kong, investigates the murder of an American tech company employee and is shocked to discover that the victim's face is identical to her own. By the author of <i>All That Glitters</i>
Storyline
Pace
Tone
Writing style
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10392049
Cataloging source
MnSpTMCL
Dewey number
813.6
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Target audience
adult
Label
The Ghost Shift : A Novel, (electronic resource :)
Link
http://ebook.3m.com/library/ald-document_id-es3m7z9
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
9780345527943
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
320 p.
Form of item
electronic
Isbn
9780345527943
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
es3m7z9
Label
The Ghost Shift : A Novel, (electronic resource :)
Link
http://ebook.3m.com/library/ald-document_id-es3m7z9
Publication
Control code
9780345527943
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
320 p.
Form of item
electronic
Isbn
9780345527943
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
es3m7z9

Library Locations

  • Arapahoe Library DistrictBorrow it
    12855 E Adam Aircraft Circle, Englewood, CO, 80112
    39.578124 -104.839077
  • Castlewood LibraryBorrow it
    6739 South Uinta Street, Centennial, CO, 80112
    39.594664 -104.894003
  • Davies LibraryBorrow it
    303 Third Avenue, Deer Trail, CO, 80105
    39.611227 -104.042075
  • Kelver LibraryBorrow it
    404 East Front Street, Byers, CO, 80103
    39.708307 -104.218269
  • Koelbel LibraryBorrow it
    5955 South Holly Street, Centennial, CO, 80121
    39.608933 -104.923621
  • May LibraryBorrow it
    1471 South Parker Road, Denver, CO, 80231
    39.689929 -104.891306
  • Sheridan LibraryBorrow it
    3425 West Oxford Avenue, Denver, CO, 80236
    39.642287 -105.031003
  • Smoky Hill LibraryBorrow it
    5430 South Biscay Circle, Centennial, CO, 80015
    39.618093 -104.767532
  • Southglenn LibraryBorrow it
    6972 South Vine Street, Centennial, CO, 80122
    39.590567 -104.963761
Processing Feedback ...