Coverart for item
The Resource The lido, by Libby Page, (text large print)

The lido, by Libby Page, (text large print)

Label
The lido
Title
The lido
Statement of responsibility
by Libby Page
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"A tender, joyous debut novel about a cub reporter and her eighty-six-year-old subject--and the unlikely and life-changing friendship that develops between them. Kate is a twenty-six-year-old riddled with anxiety and panic attacks who works for a local paper in Brixton, London, covering forgettably small stories. When she's assigned to write about the closing of the local lido (an outdoor pool and recreation center), she meets Rosemary, an eighty-six-year-old widow who has swum at the lido daily since it opened its doors when she was a child. It was here Rosemary fell in love with her husband, George; here that she's found communion during her marriage and since George's death. The lido has been a cornerstone in nearly every part of Rosemary's life. But when a local developer attempts to buy the lido for a posh new apartment complex, Rosemary's fond memories and sense of community are under threat. As Kate dives deeper into the lido's history--with the help of a charming photographer--she pieces together a portrait of the pool, and a portrait of a singular woman, Rosemary. What begins as a simple local interest story for Kate soon blossoms into a beautiful friendship that provides sustenance to both women as they galvanize the community to fight the lido's closure. Meanwhile, Rosemary slowly, finally, begins to open up to Kate, transforming them both in ways they never knew possible. In the tradition of Frederick Backman, The Lido is a charming, feel-good novel that captures the heart and spirit of a community across generations--an irresistible tale of love, loss, aging, and friendship"--
Summary
An anxiety-riddled cub reporter for a small London paper is assigned to cover the closing of a local rec center and bonds with an 86-year-old widow who has swum in the community pool every day since childhood
Theme
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10677187
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
823.92
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Thorndike Press large print basic
Target audience
adult
Label
The lido, by Libby Page, (text large print)
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Control code
1039201016
Dimensions
23 cm.
Edition
Large print edition.
Extent
481 pages (large print)
Form of item
large print
Isbn
9781432854232
Lccn
2018024562
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)1039201016
Label
The lido, by Libby Page, (text large print)
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Control code
1039201016
Dimensions
23 cm.
Edition
Large print edition.
Extent
481 pages (large print)
Form of item
large print
Isbn
9781432854232
Lccn
2018024562
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)1039201016

Library Locations

  • Arapahoe Library DistrictBorrow it
    12855 E Adam Aircraft Circle, Englewood, CO, 80112
    39.578124 -104.839077
  • Castlewood LibraryBorrow it
    6739 South Uinta Street, Centennial, CO, 80112
    39.594664 -104.894003
  • Davies LibraryBorrow it
    303 Third Avenue, Deer Trail, CO, 80105
    39.611227 -104.042075
  • Kelver LibraryBorrow it
    404 East Front Street, Byers, CO, 80103
    39.708307 -104.218269
  • Koelbel LibraryBorrow it
    5955 South Holly Street, Centennial, CO, 80121
    39.608933 -104.923621
  • May LibraryBorrow it
    1471 South Parker Road, Denver, CO, 80231
    39.689929 -104.891306
  • Sheridan LibraryBorrow it
    3425 West Oxford Avenue, Denver, CO, 80236
    39.642287 -105.031003
  • Smoky Hill LibraryBorrow it
    5430 South Biscay Circle, Centennial, CO, 80015
    39.618093 -104.767532
  • Southglenn LibraryBorrow it
    6972 South Vine Street, Centennial, CO, 80122
    39.590567 -104.963761
Processing Feedback ...